The Corporate Law Group

Legal News You Can Use


The Buzz thinks the new California cell phone law is silly. You can still eat, play drums, shave, read the newspaper, and put on makeup but you cannot hold your hand next to your ear. Oh, you can still talk on the phone too, you just need to do it on a hands free device. Mind this, you do not actually need any hands on the steering wheel, you just need to be distracted talking on the phone while the phone is not next to your head. As we said, silly! In fact, we think it was merely a revenue grab; an excuse to take $20 ($50 for a second and further offence) from anyone using their phone. Sure the State is short on money, although showing the fiscal restraint of drunken sailors. No…I’m sorry…that’s unfair to drunken sailors. Well, we’re here to help. California Vehicle Code Section 23123(c) provides that, “This section does not apply to a person using a wireless telephone for emergency purposes, including, but not limited to, an emergency call to a law enforcement agency, health care provider, fire department, or other emergency services agency or entity.” SO, if you are using your telephone for any emergency, challenge the ticket. The Buzz says go for it!
Paul Marotta

Leave a Reply